Island County Democrats elect officers, board members

Duane Fulgham of South Whidbey was elected chairman of Island County Democrats by precinct committee officers from across Whidbey and Camano islands at their meeting on Jan. 6.

Also elected to the new executive board of Island County Democrats were Mary Hughes, Camano Island Vice Chairwoman; Sharon Franzen, Whidbey Island Vice Chairwoman; Jane Jaehning, Treasurer; Ria Claassen, Secretary; Tom Riggs, State Committeeman; and Sue Tingstad, State Committeewoman.

Fulgham said Island County Democrats will now focus on the 2012 elections, and party officials said a planning effort will continue for the next few months as they explore ways to accomplish the party’s goals.

“We need to recruit and train more volunteers, develop our message about good government and support our Democratic candidates the best we can,” Fulgham told his fellow Democrats after last week’s election.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates