4-H honors program members and leaders

The Island County 4-H Program has announced its 4-H members who were honored at the program’s achievement and rally night. Achievement Night is usually held shortly after the 4-H year ends and the state competition in Puyallup has also wrapped up.

This year, both Achievement Night (which is an evening of recognition for 4-H’ers and leaders for their achievements throughout the year) and Rally Night (a welcoming of new members and leaders with an initiation ceremony followed by refreshments and games) were combined to form one fantastic and memorable evening.

The evening ceremony at Coupeville High School commons was opened with the presentation of flags by the Oak Harbor High School NJROTC, followed by 4-H’er Arianna Cane who expertly and beautifully sang the National Anthem. New 4-H leaders and clubs were welcomed as well as an introduction of the standing club leaders who in turn introduced the new members for 2008-2009 in a candlelighting ceremony before all in attendance.

Achievement awards:

Those reaching the age of 19 and graduating out of the 4-H program: Elizabeth Vannice-Zahrt, Paige Mueller, Annie Southard, Brittany Loveng, Chelsea McHugh, Karissa Lawson, Rachel Evans, Rachel Martinez.

Primary Recognition: Julie Beumer, Matthew Blanchard, Emma Blanchette, Sonny Campbell, Tom Campbell, Brenden Darnell, Adrianne Gribble, Cecelia Jacobson-Ross, Gabrielle Jacobson-Ross, Holly Johnson, Adrian Martin, Samantha Mutschler, Avery Scharwat, Dustin Scharwat, Meredith Smith, Anna Urtasun.

Gold Medal Awards

Achievement: Scott Warwick.

Alpaca: Kelly Uhlig.

Beef: Maria Kidder, Matt Molitor, Tommy Molitor.

Cat: Holly Fisher, Irene Gribble, Lisa Walker.

Dog: Christina Fry, Jaymee Graves, Annie Mutschler, Kendra O’Keefe, Cassandra Pfannenstiel.

Fiber Arts: Adrianna Royal.

Horse: Laurrin Bates, Kelsie Fitzpatrick, Lauren Fouts, Christina Houck, Shannon Kinskie, Ellie Ledgerwood, Jessie Ledgerwood, Sara Nagel, Isabel Thompson.

Judging: Shannon Kinskie.

Leadership: Zach Boon, Kelsie Fitzpatrick, Amber Gilkerson, Jayme Hunt, Chelsea McHugh, Morgan Tuttle.

Sheep: Arianna Cane, Emma Leese, Katie Leese, Marie Leese, Alex Martinis.

Videography: Adrianna Royal.

Record Book Pins

(score of 98-plus)

Canine Champions: Kendra O’Keefe.

Central Whidbey Cattlemen: Maria Kidder, Matt Molitor, Tommy Molitor.

Coupeville Cossacks: Ellie Ledgerwood, Jessie Ledgerwood.

K-9 Korps: Zach Boon, Christina Fry, Jaymee Graves, Rachel Purcell, Cassandra Pfannenstiel.

Knight Riders: Kelsie Fitzpatrick.

Kool Kats: Holly Fisher, Irene Gribble, Lisa Walker.

Sat N Saddles: Chelsea McHugh, Morgan Tuttle.

South Whidbey Centaurs: Shelby Lubchuk, Morgan Mackie, Mackenzie Peterson, Vica Radisch, Lacy Williams.

Whidbey Shepherds: Arianna Cane, Emma Leese, Katie Leese.

Whidbey Whiskers: Brendan Ameluxen-Coleman, Jayme Hunt, Mallory Hunt.

Club Officer Pins: President, Zach Boon, Alissa Coupe, Jayme Hunt, Chelsea McHugh, Kendra O’Keefe. Secretary: Amber Gilkerson, Lindsey Johnson, Jessie Ledgerwood. Treasurer: Irene Gribble, Morgan Tuttle. Reporter: Emily Bain.

Patch Awards. First Year: Brendan Ameluxen-Coleman, Holly Fisher, Amber Gilkerson, Jaymee Graves, Irene Gribble, Chelsea McHugh, Matt Molitor, Tommy Molitor, Annie Mutschler, Sara Nagel, Cassandra Pfannenstiel, Kelly Uhlig, Lisa Walker. Second Year: Christina Fry, Mallory Hunt, Lindsey Johnson, Ellie Ledgerwood, Jessie Ledgerwood. Third Year: Kelsie Fitzpatrick, Maria Kidder. Fourth Year: Arianna Cane, Jayme Hunt, Isabel Thompson, Morgan Tuttle. Sixth Year: Zach Boon. Seventh Year: Alissa Coupe.

Fair Round Robin Contest Awards

Large Animal: Jake Lundstrom, Central Whidbey Cattlemen.

Small Animal: Jayme Hunt, Whidbey Whiskers.

Pie Baking Contest Winners: Best Hot Pie, Adrianna Royal and Allison Duvenez. Best Cold Pie, Emily Bain.

4-H Week Promotion Display Contest: Whidbey Lone Stars.

Photography People’s Choice Award: Meaghan DeWolf, “My Goat Chestnut.”

Public Presentation Merit Awards: Visual Aids, Jayme Hunt; Composure, Katie Leese; Research, Kelly Uhlig and Annalies Schuster.

Island County Fair Herdsmanship Awards

Division I, Whidbey Lone Stars (horse); Division II, Whidbey Shepherds (sheep); Division III, Dog Barn;

Division IV, Cavy Barn.

Home Ec Contest High Point Award: Jayme Hunt and Matt Molitor.

Cavy Project Sportsmanship Award: Jayme Hunt.

Cat Project Sportsmanship Award: Irene Gribble.

Dog Project High Point Award: Kendra O’Keefe.

Livestock Carcass of Merit Awards

Lamb: Grand, Seth Fitzgerald; Reserve, Hannah Rench.

Beef: Grand, Lance Kidder; Reserve, Jake Lundstrom.

Swine: Grand, Karissa Lawson; Reserve, Cloe Amsler.

Meat Goats: Grand, Alex Martinis; Reserve, Marie Leese and Alex Martinis.

Sheep Project Sportsmanship Award: Grace LaPoint.

Horse Project

High Point Award: Kelsie Fitzpatrick (56 points). Most Inspirational: Shelby Lubchuk. Sportsmanship: Sara Nagel.

4-H Superintendent of the Year: Denise Boyett, Horse Division.

4-H Leader of the Year: Chrissy O’Keefe, Canine Champions.

4-H’er of the Year: Maria Kidder, Central Whidbey Cattlemen.

Maria Kidder, 4-H’er of the Year, and Chrissy O’Keefe, 4-H Leader of the Year.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates