New volunteers join fire district

Twelve recent graduates of the county’s firefighter training academy officially joined the roster of Island County Fire District 3 volunteers this past week.

District commissioners confirmed membership for firefighters Wendy Carpenter, Margot Jerome, Stephen La Rogue, Jessica Larson, Justin Moison and Michael Oyola, and for high school firefighters Bryce Bebee, Marcus Faucher, David Fernandez, Kevin Rookstool, Zeke Spalding and Jessica Webster.

The previous weekend, the group was honored at a graduation dinner at the Freeland Fire Station attended by about 60 people, officials said.

The recruits received about five months of training, attending sessions at the Freeland station two nights a week and on occasional weekends.

Their addition to the roster will bring the number of district volunteers to more than 100, officials said.

The next training session of the fire academy begins Monday, Jan. 11.

The commissioners also announced that a swearing-in ceremony for new chief H.L. “Rusty” Palmer will be at 6:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 11 at the Freeland station.

Palmer, the current fire chief of the Jackson Hole, Teton County, Wyo. fire department, agreed last month to a three-year contract to replace Chief Dan Stout, who retires in February.

An open house for Stout will be Thursday, Jan. 14, following the regular monthly commission meeting, which begins at 5 p.m. at the Freeland station.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates