Island County GOP reorganizes

The Island County Republican Party has elected new officers for 2009.

Bill Carruthers of Clinton will serve as chairman. He replaces outgoing chairwoman Kathy Jones, and Carruthers will lead the Island County Republican Central Committee for a two-year term.

Linda Sturza of Camano Island has been elected vice chair; Debbie Cunningham of Greenbank was elected secretary; and Mark Brinkman of Clinton was elected treasurer.

Caig Buchanan of Freeland and Sandi Peterson of Oak Harbor were elected State Committeeman/Committeewoman respectively.

Party members met in early December for a reorganization and election of new officers.

The next Island County Republican Party general meeting will be held Thursday, Jan. 22, at the headquarters office in Oak Harbor (390 Midway Blvd.).

Republicans are invited to a potluck starting at 6, followed by a general meeting at 7 p.m. Call the office at 360-279-1197 for further information or directions.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates