County approves precinct changes

Island County commissioners unanimously approved the creation of 18 new election precincts Monday.

A total of 10,385 voters will be affected by the change, but Island County Auditor Sheilah Crider said the revisions will have little impact on voters. Voters in new or renamed precincts will get cards in the mail that identify their new precincts.

Crider said state law requires that a precinct be divided if it exceeds 900 active registered voters. The changes will also mean more precinct committee officers in the county.

The new precincts are: Camano 2, Countryclub 2, Mabana 2, Sunset 1, Sunset 2, Coles, Saratoga 2, Maxwelton 2, Crosswoods, Triangle Cove 2, Useless Bay 2, Utsalady 2, Lost Lake, Admiralty 2, North Bluff, Bush Point 2, Oak Harbor 16 and Oak Harbor 17.

The boundaries of 31 precincts were amended by Monday’s action. The precincts are: Austin, Camano, Clinton, Countryclub, Deer Lake, Freeland, Glendale, Greenbank, Mabana, Madrona, Maple Grove, Sandy Point, Saratoga, Maxwelton, Swantown, Triangle Cove, Useless Bay, Utsalady, Driftwood, Admiralty, Highland, Countryside, Lone Lake, Bush Point, Possession and Oak Harbor 8, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates