Opinion

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, July 26, 2017

  • Jul 26th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, July 25, 2017

  • Jul 25th, 2017

Reject the ‘fake news’ lie, support local journalism

The motive behind the whole “fake news” narrative is clear, and the…

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, July 22, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, July 22, 2017

  • Jul 22nd, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, July 20, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, July 20, 2017

  • Jul 20th, 2017

EDITOR’S COLUMN | Ready for Whidbey and the Northwest

It’s nice to be back, really. I get pretty sick of the…

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, July 19, 2017

  • Jul 19th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, July 18, 2017

  • Jul 18th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, July 17, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, July 17, 2017

  • Jul 17th, 2017

Get used to leaving the phone alone when driving

By The Herald Editorial Board Now would be a good time to…

  • Jul 15th, 2017

Exercise vigilance, caution on the roads this summer

The confluence of major road work, tourist season and ferry problems has…

  • Jul 12th, 2017

American Health Care Act is terrorism by Republicans

Editor; I need to get a point across to Republicans and the…

Life-saving Narcan should be available as much as possible

It’s both alarming and sad that opioid overdoses are now such a…

  • Jul 5th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, July 4, 2017

  • Jul 4th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, July 3, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, July 3, 2017

  • Jul 3rd, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, July 1, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, July 1, 2017

  • Jul 1st, 2017

EDITORIAL | Follow the rules when lighting fireworks

There is a veritable cornucopia of rules regarding the discharge of fireworks…

  • Jul 1st, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, June 30, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, June 30, 2017

  • Jun 30th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, June 29, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, June 29, 2017

  • Jun 29th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, June 28, 2017

  • Jun 28th, 2017

EDITORIAL | Lighten up Langley, let the music play

The Langley City Council will meet in a special meeting tonight to…

  • Jun 28th, 2017

VIEWPOINT | We must work together to help our most vulnerable

By REP. NORMA SMITH During this legislative session, I’ve had the honor…

  • Jun 28th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, June 26, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, June 26, 2017

  • Jun 26th, 2017

EDITORIAL | Deep cuts to Medicaid are a bad medicine for hospitals

Proposed cuts to Medicaid under the U.S. Senate’s health care bill are…

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, June 24, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, June 24, 2017

  • Jun 24th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, June 23, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, June 23, 2017

  • Jun 23rd, 2017

Alternative lending program, WILL, a benefit for Whidbey

By RANDY WILCOX I found my way to Whidbey in one of…

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, June 21, 2017

  • Jun 21st, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, June 20, 2017

  • Jun 20th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, June 19, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, June 19, 2017

  • Jun 19th, 2017

EDITORIAL | Trail grant decision was the right one

An inconsequential Central Whidbey trail grant turned would-be pawn in the highly…

  • Jun 17th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, June 17, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, June 17, 2017

  • Jun 17th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, June 15, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, June 15, 2017

  • Jun 15th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, June 14, 2017

  • Jun 14th, 2017

VIEWPOINT | Ryan’s House shouldn’t mix young adults, children

By SHERIFF MARK BROWN There’s been a lot of media attention focused…

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, June 13, 2017

  • Jun 13th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, June 12, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, June 12, 2017

  • Jun 12th, 2017

EDITOR’S COLUMN | Don’t wait for aliens to arrive, go out and volunteer

By JUSTIN BURNETT According to the famous quote by notable philosopher Justin…

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, June 10, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, June 10, 2017

  • Jun 10th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, June 9, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, June 9, 2017

  • Jun 9th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, June 8, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, June 8, 2017

  • Jun 8th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, June 7, 2017

  • Jun 7th, 2017

With 23 million fewer insured, Trumpcare is a ‘real loser’

By RICK LARSEN If there were a book on common sense for…

  • Jun 7th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, June 6, 2017

  • Jun 6th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, June 5, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, June 5, 2017

  • Jun 5th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, June 3, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, June 3, 2017

  • Jun 3rd, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, June 2, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, June 2, 2017

  • Jun 2nd, 2017

VIEWPOINT | One South Whidbey tideland owner’s perspective

By WILSON BINGER As an owner of tidelands, as well as someone…

  • May 31st, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, May 31, 2017

  • May 31st, 2017

Thankful for support with gallery’s move

Editor, We would like to express our deepest gratitude for the overwhelming…

  • May 27th, 2017