Opinion

Today’s cartoon for Friday, May 26, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, May 26, 2017

  • May 26th, 2017

EDITORIAL | Looking forward to a new Dog House (corrected)

Barring any new or unforeseen obstacles, the Dog House in Langley will…

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, May 25, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, May 25, 2017

  • May 25th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, May 24, 2016

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, May 24, 2016

  • May 24th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, May 23, 2017.

  • May 23rd, 2017

EDITORIAL | New pool plan is cool, but keep it realistic — nothing splashy

Nearly 10 years after an ambitious pool plan was sunk by voters,…

  • May 22nd, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, May 22, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, May 22, 2017

  • May 22nd, 2017

Today’s cartoons for Saturday, May 20, 2017

Today’s cartoons for Saturday, May 20, 2017

Today’s cartoons for Friday, May 19, 2017

Today’s cartoons for Friday, May 19, 2017

  • May 19th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, May 18, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Nate Beeler.

  • May 18th, 2017

VIEWPOINT | It’s time to let others step forward with new energy, ideas and lead Langley into the future

By RENE NEFF Dear Langley Community, Honorable Mayor Callison and Esteemed Langley…

  • May 17th, 2017

EDITORIAL | WhidbeyHealth CEO’s goals should be clear

The WhidbeyHealth hospital board handed hospital CEO Geri Forbes a $70,000 bonus,…

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Daryl Cagle.

  • May 17th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Dave Granlund.

  • May 16th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, May 13, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by R.J. Matson.

  • May 13th, 2017

EDITORIAL | Filing week begins this Monday, but consider public office carefully

This week, FBI Director James Comey’s head became the latest to roll…

  • May 13th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, May 12, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Adam Zyglis.

  • May 12th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, May 11, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Rick McKee.

  • May 11th, 2017

EDITORIAL | Lawmakers need to take time, get healthcare right

It’s not a good sign when the passage of a bill sends…

  • May 10th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Michael Kountouris.

  • May 10th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by John Darkow.

  • May 9th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, May 8, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Osama Hajjaj.

  • May 8th, 2017

EDITORIAL | Hazardous waste funding is essential

Toxic chemicals are still harmful to the environment, but not enough to…

  • May 6th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, May 4, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Nate Beeler.

  • May 4th, 2017

EDITOR’S COLUMN | Nancy Waddell has The Record’s gratitude

When I was 22, I applied for my very first newspaper job…

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, May 3, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Pat Bagley.

  • May 3rd, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Daryl Cagle.

  • May 2nd, 2017

VIEWPOINT | It’s time for all of us to rise to our feet

By LARRY DALOZ The Bayview Cash Store is still reverberating from the…

  • Apr 29th, 2017

EDITORIAL | Universally accessible parks deserve support

Whidbey is a special place for many reasons, from leisurely walks on…

  • Apr 29th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, April 29, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Adam Zyglis.

  • Apr 29th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, April 28, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Bill Day.

  • Apr 28th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, April 27, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by John Darkow.

  • Apr 27th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Nate Beeler.

  • Apr 26th, 2017

VIEWPOINT | Urge legislators to support essential public health funding

By HELEN PRICE JOHNSON, RICHARD HANNOLD and GRETHE CAMMERMEYER Washington’s Public Health…

  • Apr 26th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, April 24, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Adam Zyglis.

  • Apr 24th, 2017

VIEWPOINT | Excellent things are happening in Langley

By MAYOR TIM CALLISON Over the last year, the City of Langley…

  • Apr 22nd, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, April 21, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Bill Day.

  • Apr 21st, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, April 20, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Nate Beeler.

  • Apr 20th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Nate Beeler.

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Dave Granlund.

  • Apr 18th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, April 17, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Daryl Cagle.

  • Apr 17th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Saturday, April 15, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Pat Bagley.

  • Apr 15th, 2017

Because Facts Matter – Whidbey March & Rally for Science on Earth Day

By STEVE ERICKSON A strange malady is infecting politicians all over the…

  • Apr 15th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Friday, April 14, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Nate Beeler.

  • Apr 14th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Thursday, April 13, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Steve Sack.

  • Apr 13th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Adam Zyglis.

  • Apr 12th, 2017

VIEWPOINT | I’m a refugee, this is my message

By JOSETTE HENDRIX I’m a refugee, having fled with my father and…

  • Apr 12th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Daryl Cagle.

  • Apr 11th, 2017

Today’s cartoon for Monday, April 10, 2017

Today’s cartoon is by Bob Englehart.

  • Apr 10th, 2017

EDITORIAL | EMTS deserve recognition, our gratitude

In our Wednesday edition, The Record published a story about emergency medical…

  • Apr 8th, 2017