Falcons wrap up season with awards

The South Whidbey boys soccer team completed its season Thursday at an awards ceremony.

Players who received awards were: Adam Jaffe, offensive player of the year; Ari Strickland, defensive player of the year; Tore Jones and L.J. Godsey, most improved players of the year; Connor Adams, the Mr. Hustle award; Ben Walker, "goal of the year" award for his goal in a win against Lakewood; Jasper Hein, leadership award; and Tyler Nettlebeck got the "worst dressed" award.

Luis Garcia, an exchange student from Spain, received a team jersey and a ball autographed by the team to recognize his contributions to the Falcons this year.

Varsity letters were awarded to 17 boys, and Devin Murphy received the most valuable player award for his play on the junior varsity team.

Four Falcons were named to the 2003 North Cascades All-Conference team. Seniors Gunn and Jaffe were named to the first team, and sophomore Kevin Dunigan was named to the second team. Sophomore Walker received an honorable mention.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates