South Whidbey’s Emma Leggett was the North Sound Conference’s female Golfer of the Year for 2019. (Photo by Jim Waller/South Whidbey Record)

South Whidbey’s Emma Leggett was the North Sound Conference’s female Golfer of the Year for 2019. (Photo by Jim Waller/South Whidbey Record)

Falcons receive spring letters, awards, honors

South Whidbey High School wrapped up the spring season by presenting athletes with letters and team awards.


Coach: Karyle Kramer.

Record: 7-4; 7-1 (tie), first in North Sound Conference.

Senior letter winners: Erin Brewer, Farriss Jokinen, Ainsley Nelson, Elizabeth Simmons, Mary Zisette.

Juniors: McKenna Kelley, Annika LeWarne, Chloe Loehr, Alison Papritz, Jenna Pfeiffer, Ashley Ricketts, Oliana Stange.

Team awards: Nelson, Captain; Zisette, Falcon Award; Papritz, Best Hustle; Pfeiffer, Most Improved; Jokinen, Most Inspirational; LeWarne, Newcomer.

League honors: Zisette/Papritz, all-league doubles; Ricketts, all-league singles.


Coach: Brad Jaeger.

Record: 5-15; 2-10 in North Sound Conference, fourth place.

Senior letter winners: Myah Majestic, Megan Nance, Natalie Wilmoth.

Juniors: Arianna Briggs, Jordyn Kelley, Kayla Knauer, Ari Marshall, Makenna Morley, Madalyn Moss, Megan Reeves.

Sophomores: Shelby Campbell, Kayley Fontenot, Melody Wilkie.

Freshmen: Taylor Fifield, Alicia Johnson, Julia Maher, Mary Moss, Chanel Sterba.

Team awards: Marshall, Most Valuable Player; Madalyn Moss, Most Improved; Majestic, Coaches’ Award; Wilmoth, Coaches’ Award.

Conference honors: Marshall, first team; Sterba, first team; Wilkie, second team; Knauer, honorable mention.


Coach: Tom Fallon.

Record: 18-5; 12-3 in North Sound Conference, second place; fifth in bi-district.

Senior lettermen: Jon Bartel, Kody Newman.

Juniors: Alex Black, Andrew Fry, Dexter Jokinen, Ethan Petty.

Sophomores: Brent Batchelor, Ben Lind, Luke Rookstool.

Freshmen: Nicholas Black, Nicholas Flaherty, Ashton Leland.

Team Awards: Alex Black, Go Hustle Award; Fry, Most Improved; Jokinen, Bulldog Award; Newman, Communicator Award; Lind, Team First Award; Leland, Team First Award; Flaherty, Team First Award.

Conference honors: Fallon, Coach of the Year; Petty, Pitcher of the Year; Fry, first-team third base; Newman, first-team shortstop; Alex Black, first-team outfield; Batchelor, second-team pitcher; Bartel, second-team second base; Nick Black, second-team outfield.


Coach: Emerson Robbins.

Record: 13-3; 8-0 in North Sound Conference, first place; second in district; fifth in bi-district.

Senior lettermen: Graham Colar, Nevin Daniels, Julian Inches, Michael Lux, Eli Waldron, Cormac Workman.

Juniors: Andrew Curtis, Joey Lane.

Sophomores: Taylor Daniels, Aidan Donnelly, Reilly McVay, Aidan O’Brien, Thomas Simms.

Freshmen: Sequoia Durham, Erik Haugen, Ryan Morgan.

Conference honors: Robbins, Coach of the Year; Lux, Offensive Player of the Year; Workman, first-team midfielder; Lane, first-team defender; Simms, first-team defender; Colar, second-team midfielder; Durham, second-team defender; Waldron, second-team defender; Inches, second-team goal keeper.

Note: Lux set school records in single season goals (27) and career goals (72).

Boys Golf

Coach: Steve Jones.

Record: First in North Sound Conference.

Lettermen: Brent de Wolf, Kellen Eager, Brady Hezel, Gabe Jacobson-Ross, Lewis Mattson, Max Rodriguez, Dane Saxton.

Team awards: Jacobson-Ross, Most Valuable Player; Mattson, Most Improved; Rodriguez, Rookie of the Year.

Conference honors: Jacobson-Ross, first team; de Wolf, first team; Mattson, second team.

State participant: Jacobson-Ross, 26th.

Girls Golf

Coach: Joe Thompson.

Record: First in North Sound Conference.

Senior letter winners: Emma Leggett, Alyssa Ludtke.

Others: Shianna Baker, Bronte Patty Caldwell, Tess Patty Caldwell, Bella Pierce, Laci Pihlman, Tori Schuller, Caitlin Sullivan, Olivia Varga.

League honors: Leggett, Golf of the Year; Ludtke, first team; Schuller, first team.

State participants: Schuller, 50th; Ludtke, 58th.

Boys Track

Coach: Mark Eager.

Record: First in North Sound Conference; second in district; second in bi-district; second in state.

Senior lettermen: Max Dodd, Ben Fly-Rinker, Casey Justus, Matthew Simmons, Carter Snelling Hanel, Caden Spear, Callahan Yale.

Juniors: Sam Baesler, Michael Cepowski, Dylan Davis, Aidyn Frederick, Issiah Gonzales, Bodie Hezel, Kole Nelson, Tyler King, Sam Martin, Billy Rankin, Christopher Schuster.

Sophomores: Carl Henri Chapman, Cody Eager, Luc Gandarias, Eric Keene, Cooper Ullmann.

Freshman: Drew Larson.

Team awards: Yale, Most Valuable Player; Hezel, Most Improved; Eager, Most Improved; Spear, Most Inspirational.

Conference honors: Yale, first-team 800; first-team 1,600; first-team 4×400; Hezel, first-team 110 hurdles; second-team 300 hurdles; second-team 4×100; Dodd, first-team 4×400; second-team 4×100; Eager, first-team 4×400; Nelson, second-team 110 hurdles; Chapman, second-team 4×100; second-team long jump; Spear, second-team 4×100; Justus, second-team javelin.

State participants: Yale, 800, first; 1,600, second; 4×400, sixth; Gonzales, 4×100, second; high jump, fourth; triple jump, sixth; Hezel, 4×400, sixth; 110 hurdles, sixth; 300 hurdles, sixth; Nelson, 110 hurdles, fifth; 300 hurdles, eighth; Eager, 110 hurdles, eighth; Martin, pole vault, eighth; Rankin, long jump, eighth; Simmons, 4×100, second; Chapman, 4×100, second; 4×400, sixth; Spear, 4×100, second; 200, 14th; 100, 19th; Dodd, 4×400, sixth.

Girls Track

Coach: Mark Eager.

Record: Third in North Sound Conference; fifth in district; ninth in bi-district; 32nd in state.

Senior letter winners: Sabrina Carey, Grace Complita, Maddy Drye, Alexandra Kurtz, Lexi Starets-Foote.

Juniors: Mallory Drye, Karyna Hezel, Mya Pratt, Mattason Straub, Camille Young.

Sophomores: Grace Huffman, Serena McClain, Natalie Monetti, Kelly Murnane, Leanne Robbins, Kaia Swegler Richmond.

Freshmen: Molly Cobbs, Trinity Krouse.

Team awards: Swegler Richmond, Most Valuable Player; Kurtz, Most Inspirational; Huffman, Most Improved.

Conference honors: Straub, first-team 100; Swegler Richmond, first-team 3,200; first-team 4×400; Starets-Foote, first-team discus; Complita, first-team 4×400; Kurtz, first-team 4×400; Mallory Drye, first-team 4×400; Cobbs, second-team 300 hurdles.

State participants: Straub, 100, sixth; 4×100, 13th; Swegler Richmond, 800, 16th; Kurtz, 4×100, 13th; Mallory Drye, 4×100, 13th; Hezel, 4×100, 13th.

More in Sports

Phay takes 2nd at national tournament / Powerlifting

Whidbey Island’s Sherry Phay finished second at the United States Powerlifting Association… Continue reading

Burlington blanks SW in district title game / 10-12 baseball

South Whidbey lost 10-0 in four innings to Burlington in the championship… Continue reading

SWPRD hosts 3-on-3 tournament / Basketball

The LM Premier 3-on-3 basketball tournament takes place Saturday, July 20, at… Continue reading

South Whidbey to play for district title / 10-12 baseball

After defeating Central Whidbey 3-2 Friday, July 12, South Whidbey will play… Continue reading

South Whidbey blanked by Burlington / 10-12 baseball

Unable to generate any offense, the South Whidbey Major Little League baseball… Continue reading

Parks district looking for volunteers to help with triathlon

The 23rd annual Whidbey Island Triathlon set for Saturday, July 27, is… Continue reading

South Whidbey uses no-hitter to advance in district tournament / 10-12 baseball

After firing a one-hitter at Central Whidbey in the opening game of… Continue reading

Falcon softball player enjoys helping others

For Natalie Wilmoth, it is all about service. Wilmoth, a recent high… Continue reading

Pitchers lead South Whidbey Little League to tournament win / 10-12 baseball

Showing off its impressive pitching depth, the South Whidbey Major Little League… Continue reading

Most Read