Primary election results certified in county

The results of the Aug. 2 primary are official.

The results of the Aug. 2 primary are official.

A total of 31,793 ballots were cast in Island County, meaning there was a 52% voter turnout, according to the Washington Secretary of State’s website. There are 81,082 registered voters in Island County in total.

The Legislative District 10 state representative races were very close with Democrat Clyde Shavers receiving almost 55% of the vote and Republican Greg Gilday receiving 44%.

For position two, Republican Karen Lesetmoe received 42% of the vote and Democrat Dave Paul received 57%

For county commissioner District 3, Democrat Janet St. Clair received 49% of the vote, Tim Hazelo received almost 39% and Rick Hannold received just 12%.

Republican Rick Felici received 60% of the vote in the race for County Sheriff, compared to Republican Lane Campbell who received 38%.

The Island County Fire Protection District No. 1 property tax levy lid lift received 59% no votes and 40% yes votes.

In the county assessor race, Republican Kelly Tood Mauck received nearly 51% of the vote, compared to unaffiliated Theodore James Kubisiak who received almost 49% of the vote.

For county auditor, Republican Sheilah Crider received nearly 54% of the vote, while Democrat Barbara Fuller received almost 46% of the vote.

In the county clerk race, Democrat Deborah Van Pelt received 62% of the vote, while unaffiliated Dierdre Butler received 37%.

For county treasurer, Democrat Tony Lam received almost 58% of the vote and Republican Richard MacQuarrie received 42%.

On a federal level, United States Senator, Democrat Patty Murray received nearly 53% of the vote, while Republican Tiffany Smiley received 35%.

For U.S. Representative of Congressional District 2, Democrat Rick Larsen received 46% of the vote. Republican Dan Mathews received almost 13% of the vote, MAGA Republican Cody Hart received 11%, Democrat Jason Call received nearly 12% and Republican Carrie R. Kennedy received about 9%.

For Washington State Secretary of State, Democrat Steve Hobbs received 39% of the vote, Republican Bob Hagglun received almost 16% and nonpartisan Julie Anderson received 14% of the vote.