South Whidbey senior Kody Newman was named boys basketball Player of the Year by the North Sound Conference. (Photo by John Fisken)

South Whidbey senior Kody Newman was named boys basketball Player of the Year by the North Sound Conference. (Photo by John Fisken)

Newman earns North Sound Conference MVP honor / Boys basketball

The North Sound Conference selected South Whidbey High School senior Kody Newman as the Player of the Year in boys basketball.

It is the second consecutive year a Falcon won the conference’s top honor. Last winter, Lewis Pope was co-Most Valuable Player of the Cascade Conference in the league’s final year of existence. Newman was a first-team, all-league selection in 2018.

Newman, like Pope, also broke the 1,000-point barrier in career points on the way to collecting the MVP award.

Three other Falcons received North Sound Conference honors. Juniors Carson Wrightson and Levi Buck were both named to the all-league second team, and junior Dexter Jokinen was honorable mention.

Wrightson earned the honor despite missing the second half of the league season with an injury.

South Whidbey head coach Mike Washington distributed letter and team honors at the Falcons’ team banquet Friday.

Earning varsity letters along with Newman, Wrightson, Buck and Jokinen were senior Brock Gray, juniors Nick Young and Kole Nelson, sophomore Sterling Patton and freshman Jacob Ng.

Newman was named the team’s Most Valuable Player and the Offensive Player of the Year.

Wrightson received the Best Rebounder and Most Potential awards.

Buck earned the Captain’s Award and Most Skilled.

Other awards went to Gray, Most Inspirational; Young, Most Improved; Jokinen, Defensive Player of the Year; Nelson, Most Energetic; Patton, Sixth Man of the Year; and Ng, Rookie of the Year.

Collecting junior varsity letters were juniors Lewis Mattson, Kohl Baker, Ben Roughsedge and Larry Herrera; sophomores Cody Eager, Carl Henri Chapman, Ben Lind, Brady Hezel, Luke Rookstool, Soren Bratrude, Trustin Betteker and Matthew Dixon; and freshmen Anthony Hall, Tyler Thrasher, Joseph Mattson, Nicholas Flaherty and Ranger Buck.

Brandon Thrasher was the team manager.

More in Sports

Falcons flutter to the finish / Boys basketball

A promising season came to disappointing end for the South Whidbey High… Continue reading

Aposhyan wins regional title; 3 Falcons qualify for state / Wrestling

South Whidbey High School junior Drew Aposhyan earned this third consecutive state… Continue reading

Island athletes collect medals / Taekwondo

Whidbey Island athletes from Armstrong’s taekwondo studios won a fistful of awards… Continue reading

South Whidbey seeks more players / Girls golf

The South Whidbey High School girls golf season is about to start,… Continue reading

Falcons fall to Lynden Christian / Boys basketball

After losing 72-37 at Lynden Christian Wednesday, Feb. 12, in the semifinals… Continue reading

South Whidbey eliminated at district / Girls basketball

The South Whidbey High School girls basketball team finished the season with… Continue reading

South Whidbey rallies for district win / Boys basketball

Checkmate. In a comeback thriller, the South Whidbey High School boys basketball… Continue reading

Falcons lose to Lyncs in district opener / Girls basketball

The outcome wasn’t unexpected but it was still a tough night for… Continue reading

8 Falcons earn regional berths / Wrestling

Eight South Whidbey High School wrestlers earned spots in the regional tournament… Continue reading

Most Read