Cascade Conference honors South Whidbey players, coaches

Twenty-one South Whidbey High School spring athletes earned all-Cascade Conference first-team honors this season, and two Falcon coaches received Coach of the Year recognition.

League honors for softball weren’t available at press time.


A pair of sophomores were named to the all-conference first team: outfielder Alex Black and pitcher Ethan Petty.

Senior outfielder Taylor Brown, junior infielder Kody Newman and freshman pitcher Brent Batchelor were second-team selections.

Receiving honorable mention were sophomore utility player Nick Young, sophomore infielder Drew Fry and freshman infielder Luke Rookstool.

Tom Fallon was named the league’s Coach of the Year.


Six Falcon soccer players were named to the Cascade Conference first team: junior forward Michael Lux, who led the league with 20 goals; midfielders junior Graham Colar (15 goals, seven assists) and senior Silas Batiste (eight goals, eight assists); senior defenders Ari Rohan and Lake Smith; and junior goalkeeper Julian Inches.

Lake was named league Defender of the Year, and Emerson Robbins was tabbed Coach of the Year.


For the boys, junior Matthew Simmons earned first-team honors in the 200 and 400 and on the 4×100 relay with junior Kristopher Dixon, freshman Carl Henri Chapman and junior John Bartel.

Dixon was also first team in the 110 hurdles.

Bartel, Chapman, junior Callahan Yale and junior Max Dodd were first team in the 4×400.

Junior Owen Boram was first team in the javelin.

Second team honors went to Simmons (100), Dixon (300 hurdles), sophomore Issiah Gonzales (high jump) and junior Cameron Jensen (long jump).

For the girls, senior Sophia Nielsen was first team in the 100 hurdles and triple jump.

Senior Elizabeth Donnelly (800) and sophomore Emily Vanberg (javelin) were also first-teamers.

Those earning second team honors were sophomore Karyna Hezel (100), freshman Kaia Swegler Richmond (1,600 and 3,200), Nielsen (long jump), the 4×100 relay (Karyna Hezel, junior Alexandra Kurtz, senior Mikayla Hezel, Nielson) and the 4×400 relay (Donnelly, sophomore Lila McCleary, junior Grace Complita, sophomore Mallory Drye).

Boys Golf

Ryan Wenzek earned first-team honors, while Gabe Jacobson-Ross and Brent DeWolf were named to the second team.

Girls Golf

Kolby Heggenes was the league’s Most Valuable Player and joined on the first team by Emma Leggett. Alyssa Ludtke earned a spot on the second team.


The Cascade Conference does not have all-league selections in tennis, but Falcons Mary Zisette and Alison Papritz were the district and bi-district doubles champions.