South Whidbey spring athletes receive all-league honors

Twenty-six South Whidbey High School spring athletes earned first-team, all-North Sound Conference honors, the league announced this week.

The group includes three conference players of the year. In addition, a pair of Falcon coaches received Coach of the Year awards.

The North Sound Conference named senior Michael Lux soccer Offensive Player of the Year, senior Emma Leggett female Golfer of the Year and junior Ethan Petty baseball’s Pitcher of the Year.

Soccer coach Emerson Robbins and baseball coach Tom Fallon each picked up Coach of the Year honors.

Others receiving first-team honors for the conference champion soccer team were midfielder Cormac Workman and defenders Joey Lane and Thomas Simms.

Midfielder Graham Colar, keeper Julian Inches and defenders Sequoia Durham and Eli Waldron were second-team selections.

Lux, Colar and Inches were first-team, all-Cascade Conference selections in 2018.

The boys track team, which won the North Sound Conference title and finished second in the state, placed four athletes on the first-team list. Callahan Yale was first team in both the 800 and 1,600 meters and joined Max Dodd, Michael Cepowski and Cody Eager on the first-team 4×400 squad.

Bodie Hezel was second team in the 300 hurdles and on the second-team 4×100 squad with Dodd, Carl Henri Chapman and Caden Spear.

Chapman was also second team in the long jump, as was Kole Nelson in the 110 hurdles and Casey Justus in the javelin.

In girls track, Kaia Swegler Richmond earned first-team honors in the 3,200 and on the 4×400 team with Grace Complita, Mallory Drye and Alexandra Kurtz.

Mattason Straub was a first-team choice in the 100 meters and Lexi Starets-Foote in the discus.

Molly Cobbs was second team in the 300 hurdles.

Joining Petty and Fallon on the baseball honor list were first-team selections Drew Fry at third base, Kody Newman at shortstop and Alex Black in the outfield.

Second-team honors went to pitcher Brent Batchelor, second baseman Jon Bartel and outfielder Nick Black.

Petty and Alex Black were also first-teamers last spring, Newman second team and Fry honorable mention.

The North Sound champion boys golf team collected three of the five first-team spots: Gabe Jacobson-Ross, Brent de Wolf and Dane Saxton.

Lewis Mattson was a second-team choice.

Jacobson-Ross earned second team honors and de Wolf honorable mention in 2018.

The Falcons also claimed three of the five first-team selections in girls golf. Joining Leggett on first team were Tori Schuller and Alyssa Ludtke.

Leggett is a repeat first-team selection, and Ludtke was named to the second team last year.

In softball, Ari Marshall and Chanel Sterba landed on the North Sound Conference first team. Sterba was one of only two freshmen to receive the honor. Marshall was first team last spring as well.

Melody Wilkie was named to the second team for the second consecutive year.

The North Sound Conference does not hand out league honors in tennis, but Mary Zisette and Alison Papritz won the conference doubles title, while singles player Ashley Ricketts placed second and the doubles team of Farriss Jokinen and Ainsley Nelson took third.